ISOJ 2022

The 23rd ISOJ was held on April 1 & 2, 2022, in Austin, Texas and online. 

View ISOJ 2022 program and videos, session-by-session, below, and also check out speaker bios and read news coverage of the 23rd International Symposium on Online Journalism. After two years of online-only conferences due to the pandemic, ISOJ successfully returned as an in-person gathering at the University of Texas at Austin’s beautiful campus with innovative ways for remote participation. The conference was hosted at the University of Texas at Austin campus and supplemented with live streaming and virtual programming that reached journalists, media executives and scholars from around the world. ISOJ 2022 had 1,227 participants, 296 in person and 931 online.

Scroll down the page to access videos and transcripts from the 23rd ISOJ.

ISOJ 2022 Archive

News and AI (#ISOJ Journal peer-reviewed research panel)

Chair: Amy Schmitz Weiss, ISOJ research chair, San Diego State University

  • Co-Chair/Discussant: Seth Lewis, professor, director of Journalism Program, University of Oregon

  • Patrick Howe, Christine Robertson, Lindsay Grace, and Foaad Khosmood, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo & University of Miami: Exploring Reporter-Desired Features for an AI-Generated Legislative News Tip Sheet

  • Daniel Trielli and Nicholas Diakopoulos,Northwestern University: Algorithmic Agenda Setting: The Shape of Search Media During the 2020 US Election

  • Colin Porlezza and Giulia Ferri, Institute of Media and Journalism IMeG, University Della Svizzera Italiana, Lugano, Switzerland: The Missing Piece: Ethics and the Ontological Boundaries of Automated Journalism

Watch Panel Discussion Download Transcript

Panel: Subsidies and Regulations: How government initiatives may affect journalism and the digital media ecosystem

Chair: Emily Bell, professor & director, Tow Center for Digital Journalism, Columbia Journalism School

  • David Skok, CEO and editor-in-chief, The Logic, (Canada)

  • Sarah Stonbely, research director, Center for Cooperative Media at Montclair State University

  • Steven Waldman,president and co-founder, Report for America

Watch Panel Discussion Download Transcript

Research breakfast

Chair: Amy Schmitz Weiss, ISOJ research chair and professor, School of Journalism & Media Studies, San Diego State University

  • Jessica Renee Collier, postdoctoral research fellow, Center for Media Engagement, UT Austin

  • Gina M. Masullo, associate professor/associate director, Center for Media Engagement, UT Austin

  • Caroline Murray, research associate, Center for Media Engagement, UT Austin

  • Talia Stroud, professor/director, Center for Media Engagement, UT Austin

Watch Panel Discussion Download Transcript

Breakfast workshop: The need for digital provenance: How the Content Authenticity Initiative is addressing mis/disinformation

Lightning sessions: Online journalism and press freedom in Asia and Latin America

Chair: Ann Marie Lipinski, curator, Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard

Watch Panel Discussion Download Transcript

Panel: Mental health and the wellbeing of journalists in an era of online harassment, extreme polarization, denialism and pandemic

Chair: Avery Holton, chair, Department of Communication, University of Utah

  • Valerie Belair-Gagnon, director, Minnesota Journalism Center, University of Minnesota

  • Elana Newman, McFarlin Professor of Psychology, University of Tulsa, research director, Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma

  • Luisa Ortiz Pérez, executive director & cofounder,

  • Hannah Storm, founding director, Headlines Network (U.K.)

Watch Panel Discussion Download Transcript